top of page

Brainstorming

Kindness: What? Why? Where? Who? When?

BRAINSTORM

I started looking into my own world and where I get in touch with 'kindness'. There immediately popped-up some things: doing grocery shopping for grandparents, giving compliments, smiling to strangers, keeping the door open for someone, giving money to a homeless person, tipping a waitress, picking up something someone dropped.


Converge

After some brainstorming I started looking at my ideas and see where pain points can occur.

  • Doing grocery shopping for grandparents: Do they dare to ask this? Do they feel ashamed about it? Do they disturb others with this?

  • Giving money to a homeless person Some people think they use the money to purchase drugs or alcohol. Who do you know they are really homeless?

  • Tipping a waiter Not everyone can afford giving extra money. What about people who don't have a fixed salary? Are they happy with other things than money?

TIPPING A WAITER To tip // To give someone who has provided you with a service an extra amount of money to thank them (Cambrigde Dictionary, z.d.) Going on restaurant with my parents, going to drink something with my friends in a bar, take away food from a restaurant. These are all examples where I get in touch with waiters and people who serve me. But only in the first situation tips are involved. When i'm alone or with my friends, giving tips doesn't happen.


As a student we don't have a fixed salary. We receive pocket money from our parent or from student jobs. We buy food with it, use it while we are going out or we buy something we really want to have. I think we rather spend our money to ourselves than give it as an extra to someone who has a fixed salary.


But how can we thank a waiter, as a student, with something that costs nothing?


ASSOCIATION

When looking back at the idea of giving money to a homeless person, I founded a concept that has not been around very long: a deferred coffee (Dutch: uitgestelde koffie) A deferred coffee // where someone buys a cup of coffee in advance for someone who cannot afford it. So you don't know in advance exactly for whom you are ordering (uitgestelde koffie, z.d.)


I think this is a very interesting concept. In this case the question of what the homeless person would do with your money is resolved. I want to link this concept with tipping a waiter because with the deferred coffee, you 'give' a coffee instead of money. I also want to find an alternative for giving money, but an alternative that costs nothing. I especially want to focus on students and how they can 'tip' a waiter, without money involved.

9 weergaven

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page